ITIL Foundation


ITIL® (Information Technology Infrastructure Library®) is the internationally-accepted methodology to manage IT services. ITIL®provides a consistent set of best practices, drawn from the public and private sectors internationally. ITIL® is supported by a comprehensive qualification scheme, accredited training organizations, and implementation and assessment tools.

ITIL® Foundation is a 3 day training course. The purpose of the ITIL® Foundation certificate in IT Service Management is to certify that the candidate has gained knowledge of the ITIL® terminology, structure and basic concepts and has comprehended the core principles of ITIL® practices for service management.


You should expect to gain competencies in the following areas after successful completion of the training course:

  • Service management as a practice
  • The ITIL service lifecycle
  • Generic concepts and definitions
  • Key principles and models
  • Selected processes
  • Selected functions
  • Selected roles
  • Technology and architecture
  • Competence and training
Course Outline


  • History and Background of ITIL®
  • Components of ITIL®
  • ITIL® Qualification Scheme Competence and skills for service management
  • Definitions of Service and Service Management Process
  • Process Model
  • Function Role and RACI Model Service Management as a Practice
  • ITIL® Service Lifecycle

Service Strategy

  • Value Creation through Services
  • Utility vs. Warranty
  • Service Assets
  • Service Automation
  • Service Portfolio Management
  • Financial Management for IT Services
  • Business Relationships Management

Service Design

  • Aspects of Service Design
  • Service Design Package
  • Service Catalogue Management
  • Service Level Management
  • Capacity Management
  • Availability Management
  • IT Service Continuity Planning
  • Information Security Planning
  • Supplier Management
  • Design Coordination

Service Transition

  • Service Asset and Configuration Management
  • Change Management
  • Release and Deployment Management
  • Knowledge Management
  • Transition Planning & Support

Service Operation

  • Value of Service Operations
  • Incident Management
  • Problem Management
  • Event Management
  • Request Fulfillment
  • Access Management
  • Service Desk
  • Technical Management
  • IT Operations Management
  • Application Management

Continual Service Improvement

  • Value of Continual Service Improvement
  • Service Measurement & Optimization
  • The Seven Step Improvement Process
  • The Deming Improvement Cycle
  • Continual Service Improvement Cycle
Other features include:
  • Workshops
  • Quizzes
  • Tips for Actual Exam
  • Mock Exam
Who should attend:
  • Individuals who require a basic understanding of the ITIL framework and how it may be used to enhance the quality of IT service management within an organization.
  • IT professionals that are working within an organization that has adopted and adapted ITIL who need to be informed about and thereafter contribute to an ongoing service improvement program.
  • Experience and knowledge of IT computing environments are useful but not essential.
Materials Provided:
  • Course reference manual containing printed copies of presentation, notes, exercises and quizzes
  • Mock examination paper
  • Course certificate